A Year Ago

Has it been a year already?  One year ago today, 26 March 2016, I passed the Element 2 Technician Class Exam, sponsored by the Piscataquis Amateur Radio Club (PARC).  I took the exam at Milo Town Hall in Milo Maine.  I was nervous, however my hard work and study paid off, I passed the test with 33/35.  Then begins the wait for the license to be granted…I will post on the anniversary of that date.

Just think, in one years time I’ve gone from Technician to General, and I still have a lot to learn, and a lot more fun to be had.

7 thoughts on “A Year Ago”

  1. Padre, similar path to what I took. I went from no-code Technician to Extra in the space of a year between 1992 and 1993. Thing is I’d always hovered around radio but it wasn’t until the early 1990’s I started getting serious about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand my friend. My parents and myself started out on the CB band. When my step dad discovered Ham Radio it became a new interest. However for me it would be years later when I decided to grow up and pull my head out of my rear that I did some serious studying.

      I’m now studying for the Extra exam. My goal after earning that will be to learn CW. April 5th will mark my one year Ham Anniversary and I still couldn’t be less happy. Everyone I’ve meet along this journey has shown me how great a family I’ve entered into.

      73 my friend.

      Like

  2. Oh and now I’m getting into digital radio. DMR to be precise? Why DMR it’s because the cost is dropping like a rock. C4FM has been captured by the big players and D-Star is too proprietary.

    And DMR smells a lot too me like telecom and modern radio. It’s pretty cool.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah you have to wrap your mind around a few concepts. There are some good videos on YouTube that will walk you through. Plus in RI there are but 2 DMR repeaters. Plenty in MA which I commute through though while I head into Boston daily.

        Like

Leave a Reply

