BaoFeng UV-82HP Review

BaoFeng UV-82HP Blue High Power Dual Band Radio: 136-17MHz (2M VHF) 400-520MHz (70cm UHF) Amateur Portable Two-Way HT

This is a great HT for the price,  I will have links on where to purchase at the end of this review (all links open in a new window).   I’m still learning it, but love the added power over the UV-5RA. Added bonus for me it was available in one of my favorite colors, blue! It is also available in red, yellow, camo and standard black.

Just an FYI for everyone that uses a speaker mic, when you use the mic it will only TX on the bottom VFO (only drawback I’ve seen so far).

I do recommend not using the factory antenna that comes with it but using the Nagoya Dual Band antenna. Do yourself a big favor and buy the programming cable. This HT is easily programmed with CHIRP, I haven’t tried to program it manually (truth be known I’d much rather program it with the software then do it on the fly). The HT has great clarity in the audio I receive and my TX is far above what I expected, even bets the 5/9s I got on the UV-5RA.

Here is the current prices for each as well as the link to buy them.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my two cents, de KC1FLG/AG.

About Padre Tatro

I'm an ordained Byzantine-Anglican priest and a consecrated bishop, as well as a mental health professional. I also have Fibromyalgia and I am an Amateur Radio Operator. My call sign is KC1FLG.
This entry was posted in Amateur Radio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BaoFeng UV-82HP Review

  1. Pingback: Stop the Nay Saying | Padre Tatro's Desk

Leave a Reply

